Chenna Kesava Perumal Temple

Gummidipoondi Chenna Kesava Perumal Temple is about 600 years old. It was closed at the time of our visit and we will provide more information soon. Gummidipoondi is an industrial town in Thiruvallur district in the Indian state of Tamil Nadu. it is state first assembly constitution in the tamilnadu. Chennapattanam was named after the Chenna Kesava Perumal Temple; the word chenni in Tamil means face, and the temple was regarded as the face of the city. The British East India Company demolished this temple in 1757 AD. Due to public outcry, they donated land and some money to Manali Muttukrishna Mudaliar, who built the new Chenna Kesava Perumal temple in the year of 1762. Along with this Vishnu temple, he also built a temple for Shiva - Chenna Malleeswarar temple, thus Chennai got twin temples. There is a theory that the city Chennai was named after the Chenna Kesava Perumal temple. When the original temple was present, there were a lot of problems in Chennai such as invasion by French and Tipu Sultan.      Book Now

Pulicat lakes

Pulicat Lake is the second largest brackish water lake or lagoon in India, after Chilika Lake. It straddles the border of Andhra Pradesh and Tamil Nadu states with over 96% and 3% in Tamil Nadu situated on the Coromandal Coast in South India. The lake encompasses the Pulicat Lake Bird Sanctuary. The barrier island of Sriharikota separates the lake from the Bay of Bengal and is home to the Satish Dhawan Space CentreIn Tamil Nadu, the city Pulicat is located in the district of Tiruvallur. It is situated almost 60kms north of Chennai city particularly on the seaward side of Sri Harikota island blockade that segregates Pulicat Lake from the Bay of Bengal. A narrow water lagoon Pulicat Lake is integrated to the Pulicat city and also got its name from it. The city Pulicat has a rich history behind it. In the earlier period of 1609, the Dutch settlers had constructed a fort. In fact this Pulicat city turned out to be their main dwelling ground. Numerous invaders took possession of Pulicat city, the last being the British rulers. Britons had occupied Pulicat in 1825, thus becoming an integral part of Madras Presidency. Due to passage of so many long years much of the treasures of Pulicat had gone in to oblivion. Still aura has remained, to a large extent, by the ancient lighthouse that was erected just opposite to the Pulicat Lake. Pulicat is also thronged with beautiful birds especially near the water banks of Pulicat Lake. Almost every year between the months of October and March, myriads of wandering birds take shelter. Although varies bird species are seen, the flamingos are significant, thronging the swamplands adjacent to the lake. To attract the tourists from nearby region and also from abroad, the traveling system of Pulicat city has been improved over the years. To reach Pulicat, one needs to travel almost 54kms from Koyambedu (CMBT). Then he needs to follow 100 feet long road stretching from Koyambedu.      Book Now