Vandiyur Mariamman Teppakulam

Vandiyur Mariamman Teppakulam is the pond located near to Vandiyur MariammanTemple and situated at a distance of about 2 km from the Meenakshi Amman Temple. Literally, Teppakulammeans temple pond mainly used for devotional festivals. Vandiyur Mariamman Teppakulam is a huge square tank which covers an area of 16 acres. Built in 1646 by Thirumalai Nayak, this tank is located 5 km east of the Meenakshi Temple. The centre of the tank holds an idol of Lord Vinayaka or Vigneshwara, which is installed on a platform. According to legend, the place was found when the earth was dug to make bricks for constructing Thirumalai Nayakar Mahal. The place was converted into a tank and was dedicated to lord Ganesha. This tank serves as the site of annual Teppakulam Float Festival, which is celebrated in the months of January and February. Furthermore, it is one of the major tourist attractions as it is the largest temple tank in Tamil Nadu. It is said that the lake get its water from River Vaigai.       Book Now

Gandhi Memorial Museum

The building that houses the Gandhi Memorial Museum, Madurai is the historic Tamukkam Palace belonging to Rani Mangammal of Nayak Dynasty built about 1670 A.D. Later, This was under the occupation of the Nawab of Carnatic, the East India Company and a few others. Finally the Palace had remained for many years as the official residence of the British District Collector of Madurai, It was in 1955 the palace with about 13 acres of land was gifted by the Tamil Nadu State Government to the All India Gandhi Smarak Nidhi for the purpose of housing Gandhi Memorial Museum. Besides the major renovation to the original building a complete new wing on the northern side was constructed for the Library, Open Air Theatre and also several other buildings. Later the work was shifted to Delhi and in early 1951 the nucleus of a Museum on Gandhiji was set up in the Government hutments adjoining Kota House. Later still, in mid-1957, it was shifted to the picturesque old mansion at 5, Mansingh Road. It was finally brought to its present new and permanent home, most appropriately built opposite the SAMADHI of Mahatma Gandhi free India most revered place of pilgrimage-at Rajghat, New Delhi, in 1959. The imposing two storey Museum was formally inaugurated by Dr. Rajendra Prasad, the President of India, on January 30, 1961. The Museum was named Gandhi Memorial Museum (Gandhi Smarak Sangrahalaya), now commonly known as National Gandhi Museum (Rashtriya Gandhi Sangrahalaya) as there are also a number of regional Gandhi memorial museums in India.      Book Now

Koodal Azhagar Temple

Koodal Azhagar Temple in Madurai, a city in the South Indian state of Tamil Nadu, is dedicated to the Hindu god Vishnu. ... It is one of the 108 Divyadesam dedicated to Vishnu, who is worshipped as Koodal Azhagar and his consort Lakshmi as Maragathavalli. This temple hails from the earliest Age of Sangam period. There are references of this temple in Paripadal and Silappadikaram. The presiding deity was praised and worshipped by the Sangam tamil Poets as the president and guardian deity of the Sangam and called him by the name "Thuvarikoman" (the King who ruled over from Dwaraka) and Koodal Alagar. Koodal refers to the assembly of Poets and scholars. The Ancient Pandya rulers celebrated Avani Onam festival in praise of Sri Koodal Alagar for a period seven days. This festival is vividly described in Maduraikkanchi, on the ten lengthy poems called Pathupattu of the Sangam period. Ilangovadigal praises the Lord as "Needu Neer-Vaigai Nedumal" meaning the Lord who spanned the universe by taking three strides. (Thiruvokrama) Who is now seated at the bank of the river Vaigai in Archa form.      Book Now

Meenakshi Amman Temple

Meenakshi Amman Temple is a historic Hindu temple located on the southern bank of the Vaigai River in the temple city of Madurai, Tamil Nadu, India. It is dedicated to Parvati, known as Meenakshi, and her consort, Shiva, here named Sundareswarar. According to legend, the sacred Suyambulingam discovered by the king of Gods indira at Kadambavanam, was later enshrined by him in Madurai. The fact that the Lord is seen on the vehicle of Indira in this temple is said to be proof for this. Many historical evidences of the temple have been found dating back from early A.D. The temple was almost completely destroyed in the year 1310 following the invasion of the Islamic conqueror Malikkapur. As kings who were followers of Islam were noted for their intolerance towards other religions, the invaders destroyed most of the ancient sculptures of the temple. Thirugnanasambandar the Hindu Saint has mentioned the temple in his songs which go back to early 7th century. The Lord has been described as Alavai Iraivan in his songs. The temple was restored to its pristine glory in the late 14th century when the Hindu Kings came back to power in Madurai. This can also be termed as a new beginning of a new era in the history of the temple, when it was almost rebuilt. The King Thirumalai Naicker played an important role in the construction of the new form of the temple according to records. The Madurai Meenakshi Amman Temple is now under the administration of the HR and CE department of Tamil Nadu.      Book Now

Pazhamudhir Solai

Palamuthir Solai is the last army camp of Lord Muruga where he graces with his both consorts Valli and Deivanai. This temple is stashed between the wild greens of the Alagar hill. There is a small spring above this temple and the water from this spring contains lots of spiritual powers. This temple is at a distance of 19 km from Madurai. The legend has it that this is the place where Lord Muruga disguised himself as a small boy and tested the knowledge of his pious devotee and the poetess Avvaiyar, by asking the question whether she wants sutta palam or sudatha palam (Black berry). Even now there stands the naval tree (blackberry) besides the temple and is worshipped by all. Out of usual the black berry tree here blossoms in the month of October-November (the month when Sashti festival is commemorated) rather than July-September it is considered to be a world miracle.       Book Now

Thirumalai Nayakar Mahal

Thirumalai Nayakar Mahal is situated 2kms south east of the heart of the city-Meenakshi Amman Temple.The palace was built in 1636 by Thirumalai Nayakar. A classic example of the Indo-Saracenic style, the peak dragging feature of this mahal is its carved dome outsoars without the support of girders or rafters. The palace is well equipped to perform Light & Sound shows depicting the story of Silappathikaram and the same is done both in Tamil & English languages everyday. After independence, the Palace was declared as a national monument and is now under the protection of the Tamil Nadu Archaeological Department. This palace is open for the visitors from 9am to 5pm.The stucco work on domes and arches of Thirumalai Nayakar Mahal is remarkable. The gigantic pillars and structures represent the amazing architectural mastery of Nayak Kings. The courtyard and the dancing hall are being the center of attractions. There are around 248 pillars of each 58 feet toll and 5 feet diameter. The building we see today was the main Palace where the King lived. The original Palace Complex was four times bigger than the present structure.      Book Now